One Last Week Abroad

This week was a really great week. I had a lot going on, both at work and outside of work. Now in my final weeks, I have been working with the Watsons team at the office in Kuala Lumpur, as well as on some internal work for IPG Mediabrands Global. Outside of work, I have been preparing for back to school. There is a lot of online work I have to complete, as well as training courses for my new year as a Residential Assistant on campus.

For this post, I just have to talk about food. I think it is something I will miss the most in Asia when I leave. Never in my life have I been so open to trying new foods, drinks, and just anything (regarding it is not meat, as I am a pescatarian (I eat fish, not other meat)). I have officially increased my spice intake to a point where I can tolerate almost the spiciest of foods. Now, I find myself not tasting much flavor unless it has a lot of spice to it. I have no idea what I will do once I return to the states… as most food I was used to eating was not so full of these spices.

My all-time favorite drink here: Milk tea with pearls

My all-time favorite drink here: Milk tea with pearls

Asam Laksa (fish and noodle soup)

Asam Laksa (fish and noodle soup)

Roti cheese (we ate this at a 24-hour restaurant that's called a "mamak" here)

Roti cheese (we ate this at a 24-hour restaurant that’s called a “mamak” here)

A more lavish place that served savory and sweet crepes! DELICIOUS!

A more lavish place that served savory and sweet crepes! DELICIOUS!

Nasi Kandar...all vegetarian, plus some REALLY good fish

Nasi Kandar…all vegetarian, plus some REALLY good fish

Over the weekend, I spent much time with my new friends that I have made here. Some were great girls I met here in Kuala Lumpur, and others I met at my office. I celebrated my co-workers birthday, Amanda, who has become a great friend of mine here. In addition, I also met for dinner with a family who’s son is enrolling at my college in a week! They are actually living in Kuala Lumpur full time. Their son will be attending Hobart and William Smith Colleges as a first-year. They are originally from Pittsburgh, so it was absolutely wonderful to meet them and to share our thoughts about KL and Malaysia in general.

My co-worker/friend Amanda! :)

My co-worker/friend Amanda! 🙂

Her AWESOME birthday cake

Her AWESOME birthday cake

I cannot believe the countdown officially begins until I go home. One more week and my international internship at IPG Mediabrands is over. My last blog post will be very emotional, so get ready for next week!

Leave a Reply

