Two Weeks Left

Two weeks left and I can’t believe how fast this summer has gone. It feels like 14 weeks flew by and it only got faster towards the end. This week was really a great one. I joined Stanley’s team on the Milo and Watsons accounts. I got to be in both meetings, one for Watsons handover (as they just won the client), and another for a brainstorm meeting on a campaign Milo is launching.

For Watsons, I am working closely with Rachel and Matt, devising the September calendar for their social content. This includes all the Facebook, and Twitter posts the team will put on Watsons’ social media during the month of September. It has been really great exposure and I am learning a lot about social strategy.

On Friday, the company had an award event, which was held at a plane landing area (?) I put that question mark there because I still don’t actually know what to call it. It was definitely an interesting venue…and even though I am up for the unusual…this place did not have air condition. For me, it was a really, really hot night. Regardless, it was a great event and IPG Mediabrands won best agency worldwide! It was definitely news to me as I was eating my dinner during the speech by Prashant Kumar, President of IPG Mediabrands World Markets Asia.

The one image I was able to capture of the venue

The one image I was able to capture of the venue

Thank you to Amanda for sending me this one to share as well.

Thank you to Amanda for sending me this one to share as well.

Over the weekend, I stayed in Kuala Lumpur to enjoy some more things around the city. I went to the KLCC Park and the Aquarium. The city was packed, as the Grand Prix was being held this weekend. Traffic was insane, and so I tried to only go out Sunday. Unless I wanted to pay for a ridiculously expensive taxi both ways, I was safer just relaxing one day at home and getting things done for school (which struck me the other day that I have one more year to finish college).

KLCC Park

KLCC Park

Petronas Towers

Petronas Towers

The Aquarium!

The Aquarium!

I am already thinking about where I want to be and what I want to be doing after college, but it didn’t really phase me that I have a whole year of memories to make approaching me. Senior year will definitely be an extraordinary time, and I am so excited to reconcile with my friends and family when I get back.

Until then, I will enjoy my last two weeks here. So far, I have met incredible people at my office, who I admire dearly. The work they do is absolutely fantastic and they have made Malaysia a very special place for me. I am definitely lucky to have had them welcome me into the company and treat me like another employee. They have introduced me to so many new foods I can’t even pronounce the names of, taught me about Malaysia customs, and opened my eyes to knew ideas. I won’t say my final thank you’s just yet, because two more weeks, here I come!

11062096_10207788411448667_303741080659124537_n

Some REALLY Malaysian foods

My first banana leaf rice meal. I ate this with my hands!

My first banana leaf rice meal. I ate this with my hands!

Goat milk coffee

Goat milk coffee

Leave a Reply

