Second Week in Kuala Lumpur

This was my first full work week in Kuala Lumpur. There was a lot of work to be done, both for the Kuala Lumpur office, as well as the global team I am working with through the NYC office and Miami office. Working with the RallyBuzz team on PR collateral for ALBA watches is really an interesting experience, as I have never worked directly through clients in the PR role. The press conference is Tuesday, so this week there was a lot of preparation that needed to be done. It got extremely hectic towards the end of the week, but if you put in the hours to just sit and get it done, it’s never impossible to finish.  In addition, I am working with Moheeta Tamrakar on various projects. One includes setting up a LinkedIn account for Rally, and another included trying out the new social listening software for IPG Mediabrands. I was set to try out the program in both English and Spanish. Both programs were very cool to learn about and the software gathers digital information from all social platforms. It compiles it for the viewer and puts it in a nice, systematic format. It is fantastic for the individual who loves technology. So for me, it was simply amazing.

On Thursday of this past week, we had a couple company meetings. One with the Rally team and one company wide meeting, where the President Prahshant Kumar spoke. After a couple highlights, one of the requirements for anyone new in the company is having them stand up in front of the whole office and rap a song about themselves. As you can imagine, this can be very embarrassing… However, I tried to compromise. After writing out a couple lines about who I am, where I am from, and why I am here, I stood up in front of the whole office and spoke. I had the help of Miley Cyrus’s song “Party in the USA” behind me. I thought it was clever… seeing as I am the only one in the office from the USA. The President laughed at the end (hopefully because of my witty lyrics?), so I think I did the job well… It was definitely nerve wrecking, that was for sure.

As for the weekend, I finally had the chance to explore Kuala Lumpur and all that the city has to offer. I was invited by a mutual friend to an event at the Renaissance Hotel in Kuala Lumpur City Center for the Colombian Independence Day. When I first received the invite, I joked that I came all the way to Malaysia, only to find more people for South America. I absolutely loved it. The event was wonderful, and I met individuals from all over the world.

The following day, I went shopping in the Petronas Twin Towers in the city center. The mall is huge, and there is every store you could possibly imagine in it. On Sunday, I had two friends from Los Angeles come visit KL. We went to the Batu Caves to see the temple and monkeys! It was a rainy day, but definitely worth it.

Batu Caves!

Batu Caves!

11811577_10207680893360782_2027279386888042611_n

Monkeys!

Monkeys!

11811544_10207680905761092_3159406689020287282_n

After the caves, we headed to the Menara (KL Tower) that had a 360 view of the city. It was stunning, and probably the best view you can find of the city.

You can see the Petronas Twin Towers from here

You can see the Petronas Twin Towers from here

11781827_10207680910121201_6715521588353803961_n

I had a great full week, and I cannot believe I am already beginning my third week here in Kuala Lumpur!

Leave a Reply

